70 – Own it! — JT and Me

Last night Debby and I attended “An Evening with James Taylor” in Charleston.  Highlights included: the opening song: “Carolina In My Mind”; “Up on the Roof”, “Fire and Rain”, “Steamroller”, “You’ve Got a Friend”, “Whenever I See Your Smiling Face”, and ending with “Carolina In My Mind” again. The crowd was with it – singing alone with many of the songs. 

“The Moment” was when Debby and I stood and danced at our seat to “How Sweet It Is to be Loved by You”.   The touch of sweethearts dancing, swaying to the music, singing the words in each other’s ears.  (“I just want to stop … and thank you Baby”), and the sweet kisses.

This was our 4th JT concert.  The first one was in March of 1982 in Johnson City, Tennessee in a small auditorium. At our second concert we huddled under a poncho in the rain at Verizon Amphitheater in Charlotte – a night of romance not to be forgotten. The third was in the Charlotte Coliseum featuring JT and Carole King performing their Troubadour Reunion Concert which celebrated the 40th anniversary of the original performance.  (maybe best concert ever). And now the fourth concert in Charleston.   Although snuggling under a poncho in the rain and hearing JT and Carol King swoon the Troubadour Reunion were great moments, somehow this concert seemed the best of all!  Why

The venue, the good seats, being on an out of town one-night escape was part of it.  But, I believe the real difference is that I am now 70.  And 70 bring a new perspective on life.  A new ability to take life in, to enjoy it.  To not be bothered by finding the parking lot or the loud (maybe drunk) women behind us – but instead “soaking up” the moments.  Enjoying them to the full.  It seems that life is more intense – food taste better, walks with Debby are more relaxing, hanging with grandchildren is sweeter, worship is more inspiring.

When I turned 70 a couple of months ago, I realized something was happening to me.  Decade birthdays at 30, 40, 50, 60 passed with little real impact.  Not so, 70.  All of a sudden how old I was was not the question.  Age was simply a statement of how many years I had lived.  The question was no longer “how old are you?”, but how many years/days do I have left.  I talked some about this in a recent article called Stepping Aside”.  (https://russelljustice.wordpress.com/2018/03/21/stepping-aside/)  Over these months I have developed some new guiding principles.  I will list them here and save the discussion for a future article. 

  • 70 – Own It!
  • Number Our Days (Psalm 90:12)
  • If not now, when?
  • Recalculating
  • Essentials, not Priorities
  • Gravitas
  • No time for whining and complaining

As Debby and I enjoyed the night, we observed and talked about how I’m 8 days older than JT as he too just turned 70 back in March.  We also talked about how he is clearly “Owning It” and enjoying life to the full.  You could see his joy in sharing his songs and stories with the audience – songs that he had sung countless times before.  Enjoying over and over again telling the story and singing the songs.  Is it possible – his voice is not only as strong as ever, but even stronger, clearer and sweeter.  Even in a coliseum of 5000 people, he connected on what felt like a personal basis.  He even said “I’m not a performer here, a persona here – it’s me, the real me, here with you tonight.  (I hope to be that way with those who attend my workshops for business and when I speak for men’s breakfast meetings and retreats.)   We also noted that the band for the most part was a collection of hippies from the 60’s and they were surely “owning it” – rocking the place with blues.  JT, the band, the vocalist, and his wife displayed gravitas – with dignity and grandeur

Another very special night with Debby and JT.  One not to be forgotten.  One made even better by numbering my days, saying if not now, when, and without effort being able to immerse myself in the moment and soak it up.  Lord, thank you for 70 years that have gone far beyond what I could even dream.  Lord, teach me to number my days and show me how to live life to the full that You said you came to bring us

Russell Justice – May 2018

JT concert

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “70 – Own it! — JT and Me

  1. Dr. Robert Gerwig

    Great article. My gem – “essentials, not priorities.”

    >

Leave a comment