Which Direction to “Ride”

While at Hilton Head for the month of October, one of my favorite things to do is ride my bicycle.  On the beach when possible (13 miles of hard packed sand except at high tide) and  on the  “leisure trails” (64 miles).   On this trip I have ridden almost every day – over 200 miles – about half on the beach and half on the trails.

If you have ever ridden a bicycle on the beach, you know the importance of riding in right direction first and finishing the ride on the return with the wind at your back.  I first learned this lesson on St. George Island and Cape San Blas years ago.  I’ve been reminded a couple of times on this trip about the importance of choosing the direction to ride when I ended up struggling against the wind on my return trip to our villa.  So, it has become my habit to check the wind direction and strength before heading out and to pay close attention.

I’ve also adopted another strategy which works even better sometimes.  Ride down the beach in the direction that puts the wind at my back.  Then return on the leisure paths where the wind has much less effect.  At HHI this takes some research to determine which paths between the beach and the trails are open to the public, since most paths are private and gated, like the one to our villa.  Easy passage is found at beach houses like those for Palmetto Dunes, Shipyard and Sea Pines.  There are good paths and ramps at Alder Lane, Wandering Way and the Lemington beach path.  And, of course, there is always the boardwalk at Coligny. 

I know it’s just bicycle riding.  But when here for a month of relaxing, celebrating our 50th anniversary and being creative – I have the time (and desire) to invest in such matters.  But how about “regular” days?  Days when we wake up and have to make important decisions about which direction to head out. I should probably do a much better job of checking “the wind” before launching into whatever is on my calendar or seems most pressing.  For sure, I need to spend more morning time checking out the scriptures for the direction they will surely provide.

How about you?  How do you decide which trail to ride and which direction?  Do you check the wind direction and strength?  Do you allow someone else to dictate your day?  How does it work for you?

Russell Justice — October 30th, 2020

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Which Direction to “Ride”

  1. Ivey

    As usual your plans are always developing In the pursuit of the best plan which is yet to be developed.
    However, sticking with scriptures for guidance will certainly keep you moving in the right direction.
    Ivey

Leave a comment